Since 1962, Williamstown has won 34 premierships, starting in 1963, out of the 57 grand finals played, with many former champion players coaching the team.

Frank Hogarth coached from 1963 – 1974 (8 flags – 4 runners-up), Alec Inglis from 1975-1982 and 1997-1998 (8 flags, 2 runners-up), Darren Gibson 2007-2010 & 2019 (4 flags) and coaching again in 2021. Noel Smith coached for 5 years (1 flag) as did his brother Bryan Smith (3 flags). Michael Orr (3 flags), Damien Orr (3 flags), and Mark Butler (1 flag) all coached for 4 years. Gus Garnsworthy (2 flags) and Jai Carroll (1 flag) coached for 3 years and Mark and Alan Lewer co-coached for one year, as did Graeme Read. All coaches since 1963 have been “Home grown”, with Alf Evans the only “Outsider” to coach, coming from Malvern to coach from 1960-62.

Many former Williamstown players went on to coach Victorian and Australian teams. Notably Ian Jewitt was the first to coach an Australian team (1967), followed by Alec Inglis, who coached Australia in 1978, 82 & 84. Ken Read coached the inaugural box lacrosse team to play at the Commonwealth Games in 1978. Noel Smith successfully coached the Australian women’s team to victory at the 1986 World Cup and coached again in 1989. Max Madonia coached the Australian women’s team in 1993, 1997, 2005 & 2013.